2012 Scholarship Awards Announced

Posted on June 19, 2012

The Community Foundation of St. Clair County has awarded over $80,000 in total scholarship assistance to more than 60 St. Clair County residents this year.

Nearly 20 students will be receiving scholarship assistance to attend St. Clair County Community College this fall.  The Bert & Rose Wright Scholarship, the Douglas & Elda Webb Scholarship, the Marian Pollock Moore Fund and the Charles Myron & Betty Gossman Veterans Fund provide scholarships specifically for St. Clair County Community College students.  To date, these four funds have provided over $65,000 in scholarship aid to SC4 students.

Scholarship Recipients are as follows:

Alice W. Moore Memorial Scholarship Fund ($3,850)

  • Kiah Glassnor (Paul Mitchell, The School)
  • Robert Couls-Heitman (SC4)

Barbara Ann Kessler Saph Memorial Scholarship Fund ($1,500)

  • Brennen Moloney (University of Detroit-Mercy)

Bert D. & Rose E. Wright Memorial Scholarship Fund ($3,300)

  • Ashley Vogler (SC4)
  • Kimberly Zoeplitz (SC4)
  • Morgan Brenske (SC4)

Beth Linscheid Duff Memorial Scholarship ($5,000)

  • Natalie Haynes (Albion Community College)
  • Henry Herber (Spring Arbor University)

Charles G. & Berneice M. Uligian Fund ($4,900)

  • Tyler Thompson (SC4)
  • Claire Thomas (University of Michigan)

Charles Myron & Betty Gossman Veterans Fund ($1,000)

  • Shelby Ramales (SC4)

Christian B. & Agness A. Haas Memorial Scholarship Fund ($1,000)

  • Kelsie Leach (Grand Valley State University)

Darin Conrad Memorial Scholarship ($2,000)

  • Joe Cutino (Northern Michigan University)
  • Nichole Parks (Oakland University)

Douglas & Elda Webb Scholarship (4,600)

  • Matthew Allen (SC4)
  • Courtney Baker(SC4)
  • Torrey McRobie (SC4)

F. William & Patricia Schwarz Fund ($3,000)

  • Ryan Schuh (Kettering University)
  • Ryan Dean (Lawrence Technological University)

Vera Fuller Hansen Educational Trust ($5,400)

  • Colton Wirgau (University of Detroit-Mercy)
  • Kelsie Leach (Grand Valley State University)

Howard Acheson Memorial Fund ($13,000)

  • Trevor Loftus (Ferris State University)
  • Megan Loftus (Ferris State University)
  • Patrick Kostanecki (Kettering University)
  • Ariana Strieter (Lawrence Technological University)
  • Nicholas Clark (Michigan State University)
  • Nicholas Strand (Oakland University)
  • Laura Richert (Oakland University)
  • Kendra Causey (SC4)
  • Allison McDonald (University of Michigan)
  • Adam Lee (University of Michigan)
  • Avery Wine (University of Wisconsin)
  • Steven Molesworth (Western Michigan University)
  • Jacob Maynard (Western Michigan University)

Jack S. Campbell Memorial Fund ($1,000)

  • Jordan Malone (Central Michigan University)

John F. & Rose Marie Wismer Scholarship ($5,000)

  • Erin Eberhard (University of Michigan)

Joseph Caimi Scholarshp ($1,000)

  • Tori Rhoades (Central Michigan University)

Lillian Perry Scholarship Fund ($1,500)

  • Ashton Hearn (Calvin College)

James Wilhelm Memorial Scholarship ($10,000)

  • Bobbi Menke (Eastern Michigan University)
  • Courtney Pesta (Eastern Michigan University)
  • Andrea Curtiss (Ferris State University)
  • Cynthia VanDemark (Grand Valley State University)
  • Andrew Sluschewski (Kettering University)
  • Jessica Tippie (Michigan State University)
  • Brandon Huntoon (Saginaw Valley State University)
  • Kelsey Kerin (The University of Chicago)
  • Troy Westerhof (University of Michigan)
  • Heather Weiss (Wayne State University)

Little Brothers, Little Sisters of St. Clair County Scholarship ($5,000)

  • Justin Duchene (Albion Community College)
  • Bobbi Menke (Eastern Michigan University)
  • Andrew Sluschewski (Kettering University)
  • Justin Trupiano (Schoolcraft College)
  • Rachel Ochoa (University of Michigan)

Marian Pollock Moore Fund ($2,200)

  • Victoria Robinson (SC4)

Randy Sugars Memorial Scholarship ($1,000)

  • Andrew Kromroy (Western Michigan University)

Rev. Rene Desmarais Fund ($2,000)

  • Rachel King (SC4)
  • Sarah Cook (SC4)
  • Shane Richardson (SC4)
  • Abigail Weaver (SC4)

River District Hospital Auxiliary McFern-Smeltzer ($5,000)

  • Shelby Baker (Central Michigan University)
  • Elizabeth MacDonald (Michigan State University)
  • Naimah Turner (SC4)
  • Christina Welch (SC4)
  • Katie Miller (Wayne State University)


Scholarships were awarded from 22 different funds held at the Community Foundation.  Over 30 committee members on 7 committees review applications and select recipients based on criteria set forth by the fund agreement established when the fund was designated by the donor. The Foundation received over 350 applications this year.

Related Entries

October 10, 2012

Rev. Rene Desmarais Fund

Awards $2,000 in College Scholarships

May 23, 2013

St. Clair County River Day 2013

Saturday, June 8

March 8, 2013

2013 1st Quarter Grants

1st Quarter grants close to $400,000

PDF file - you will need the free Adobe Reader (or equivalent) to view. Download here.

Confirmed in compliance with National Standards for U.S. Community Foundations

Community Foundation of St. Clair County
Community Foundation of St. Clair County 500 Water St.Port Huron, MI 48060 (810) 984-4761 Fax (810) 984-3394

Legal Notice | Current Community Needs | Trustee Login | Donor Account Login | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest

© 2002-2018 Community Foundation of SCC. All Rights Reserved. | Website maintained by Eighth Day Media.